the Online Summer Workshop in Envrionment, Energy, and Transportation (Economics)


What?     Twice a month on a Friday, we will have a Zoom seminar series with a few short presentations (12 minutes each)—followed by a happy hour! Every third meeting will be an all egg-timer session.

Papers and videos will not be circulated.

Who?     We’re targeting presenters who are graduate students going on the job market this year or next year (2020 or 2021), postdocs, and first-year assistant professors. We may adjust selection based upon supply.

There will be no discussants, but we will provide a little time for questions after each paper. We will try and cluster papers by topic and try and get some senior people specializing in that area to dial in!

The organizers of OSWEET include Sarah Jacobson, Williams; Ed Rubin, U of Oregon; Catie Hausman, Michigan; Ariel Ortiz-Bobea, Cornell; Antonio Bento, USC; and Max Auffhammer, UC Berkeley.

When?     Twice a month; see schedule below.

Where?         Zoom. We will send out a Zoom link to presenters and audience members.

More?         This workshop is a supportive and constructive environment to present research (but you still have to bring your own beer/coffee/snacks to happy hour).

Interested? Please join the mailing list and/or apply to present! (And tell your friends.)


Upcoming events

07 August, 1pm Pacific Time

Friday, 07 August 2020, 1PM-2PM Pacific (4PM–5PM Eastern), followed by happy hour

Register for the mailing list to receive the Zoom link and password.

    1:00PM PDT (4:00PM EDT) Size-Based Regulations and Environmental Quality: Evidence from the U.S. Livestock Industry
Chen-Ti Chen (Iowa State University)

1:15PM PDT (4:15PM EDT) Beyond Lights: The Changing Impact of Rural Electrification on Indian Agriculture
Sudatta Ray (Stanford)

1:30PM PDT (4:30PM EDT) The Economic Impact of Schistosomiasis
Daniele Rinaldo (The Graduate Institute, Geneva)

1:45PM PDT (4:45PM EDT) Agricultural Labor Exits Increase Crop Fires: Regression-Discontinuity Evidence from a Rural Road-Construction Program in India
Hemant Pullabhotla (Stanford)

21 August, 1pm Pacific Time

Schedule forthcoming


Past events

Air quality: 24 July 2020

    1:00PM PDT (4:00PM EDT) Pollution and Mortality: Estimating Damages Using Pollutant-Specific Abatement Technologies
Casey Rozowski (NC State)

1:15PM PDT (4:15PM EDT) Pollution and Acquisition: The Environmental Justice Effects of Mergers
Irene Jacqz (Harvard)

1:30PM PDT (4:30PM EDT) What Driving Bans Tell Us About the Lasting Health Legacy of Diesel Pollution
Hannah Klauber (Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change)

1:45PM PDT (4:45PM EDT) Hurricane Induced Discharges from Superfund Sites: A Hedonic Price Analysis of Local Real Estate Market Responses
Mehrnoosh Asadi (Florida International University)

Energy: 10 July 2020

    1:00PM PDT (4:00PM EDT) Strategies, Renewables and Pass Through Costs in the German Day-Ahead Electricity Market
Gloria Colmenares (The University of Münster)

1:15PM PDT (4:15PM EDT) The Effect on Total Electricity Consumption of Behavioral Changes in Response to Time-Varying Pricing in the Residential Sector
Tabaré Capitán (University of Wyoming)

1:30PM PDT (4:30PM EDT) Contracting for Electricity in Low Income Countries: the Role of Liquidity Constraints and Transaction Costs
Megan Lang (UC Berkeley ARE)

1:45PM PDT (4:45PM EDT) Optimization and Pricing of Ancillary Services in Low-Carbon Electricity Grids
Luis Badesa (Imperial College London)